Muse

28 August, 2011 at 18:38 (Flash) (, , , , , )

You’ve got her in your pocket
And there’s no way out now
Put it in the safe and lock it
’cause it’s at home sweet home

Red hair, swirling over my eyes, I blinked it away, there was a ceiling which bubbled like water and the roaring noise of the falls was in my ears.

Nobody ever told you that it was the wrong way
To trick a woman, make her feel she did it her way
And you’ll be there if she ever feels blue
And you’ll be there when she finds someone new
What to do
Well you know

“Well, there’s a first time for everything,” he said, pulling his shirt off.

“Would you like some music on?” I asked, sharpening my pencils into the wastepaper basket, as he unbuttoned his jeans.

“Ok,” he said, pulling down his jeans and pants.

“The CD rack’s over there,” I said gesturing, “Choose whatever you like.”

Whilst he bent over the CDs I set up my pencils, putty rubber and pencil sharpener on the desk next to me, then I opened my sketch pad. He put some CDs in the player and sat upon the bed.

“For the first pose,” I said, “Just sit comfortably, something you can hold for a while.”

He nodded.

You keep her in your pocket
Where there’s no way out now
Put it in a safe a lock it
’cause it’s home sweet home

Water rushing in my ears, bubbles escaping my nose as I tried to stop them, my fingers wrapped around his arm. His voice distorted as I kicked beneath the surface.

I unwrapped the cheese from it’s muslin covering and looked out over the woodland below the cliff. I cut myself a slice as I waited for him. The clouds raced across the grey sky and presently his sweating, muscular form appeared and threw itself on the grass besides me. I handed him the lemonade which he drank down immeadiately before tearing at the bread and cheese with his solid hands.

The smile on your face made her think she had the right one
Then she thought she was sure
By the way you two could have fun
But now she might leave
Like she’s threatened before
Grab hold of her fast
Before her feet leave the floor
And she’s out the door
’cause you want

My fingers running over the muscles of his back, red hair swirling across my blinking eyes as I struggled to see beyond the brightness of the summer light.

“We did it,” he said, looking out over the ruined city as the sun began to lay it’s rays upon it.

“Yeah…” I said, “We did.”

And we walked along the cobbled path down to the city.

To keep you in my pocket
Where there’s no way out now
Put it in a safe a lock it
’cause it’s home sweet home

Red hair, swirled across my eyes and the light in them blinding me as never before. My head broke the surface and I sucked in the sweet, fresh air.

“Come on,” I said. “Down here.”

“Ahh,” he said suddenly, “Now I know where we’re going.”

I laughed, “I just hope it doesn’t rain. I can’t believe I was barefoot the first time.”

He sipped his whiskey as we hurried along.

“I seem to remember socks weren’t the only things you were lacking.”

I looked at the lamp-posts as we passed them. “Here we are,” I said, “Number four.”

He sipped his whiskey before putting it down carefully.

“We should do this properly I think, if it’s going to be the last time.”

I smiled broadly.

And in your own mind
You know you’re lucky just to know her
And in the beginning all you wanted was to show her
But now you’re scared
You think she’s running away
You search in your hand for something clever to say
Don’t go away
’cause I want

The water dripped down my face and the light was too bright to watch him walk away, even shading my face with my hands. I could make out the length of his back but the redness of his hair had vanished in the distance.

I had his arm as we walked up the damp slabs of the pavement. She was sat in the window, smoking and we fell silent as we approached. I opened the door as he went to share her cigarette and walked inside, back to the party.

Red hair, swirling over my eyes, I blinked as the mist bubbled like water covering my eyes and the roaring noise of the falls was in my ears.

To keep her in your pocket

Leave a Reply

