Travelling Salesman

24 August, 2011 at 15:36 (Flash) (, , , , , , , , , )

“You have to admit it is adaptable and that the glide function is incredibly smooth.” he said smarmily.

My lips pressed together. “Yes, but you did lie somewhat on the advert.”

“Madam,” the salesman assured me. “I most certainly did not. This is a vehicle with one careful owner which functions beautifully for all your travel needs.”

“You didn’t state that the careful owner was yourself.” I stated from my seated position.

“This is true, but Madam, I sell many such second-hand objects, I’m not required to make any disclosures as to the persons who have sold or otherwise given me their items.” He smoothed down his jacked with impecably manicured hands.

“If you had the idea that it came with… obligations may have been more obvious.”

“Madam, I am here to negotiate a sale. You signed the contract and now you have a top of the range magic carpet.”

“I was expecting a flying car!”

“Madam did not make that clear.”

“I was not expecting to become a genie!”

“I do fully understand Madam’s predicament and can only hope that Madam will find, as I did, a buyer for the carpet and it’s genie curse.”


(Three Word Wednesday: Words – Adapt, Glide and Lie)

6 Comments

  1. Sheilagh Lee said,

    I love the twist at the end of your story. Well written story.

    • luvlymish said,

      Thankyou. I’m glad you thought so.

  2. Kim Nelson said,

    Terrific ending!

    • luvlymish said,

      Thankyou.

  3. Sharp Little Pencil said,

    Nice take on smarmy used car(pet) salesmen, LOL. Also great use of the words! Thanks, Mish, enjoyed this very much! Peace, Amy

    • luvlymish said,

      Thanks very much, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

