No Apologies

5 May, 2011 at 16:07 (Uncategorized)

I didn’t know, just how much that hurt.
Because, it was a pretty thing,
a frippery,
I was in love with you, not her,
So why, would it matter,
what I asked you to say?
On your knees, heart in your mouth,
and my words at your fingers.
Every one a dalliance of pretty,
and meaningless
compared to the world of hurt
you know love is.
Will I apologise? Unlikely,
unless you can prove to me
there was no worth in the hurt
and then
I’ll take my pen and score
the blood inside my skin
onto this page for you.

2 Comments

  1. mydigitallove said,

    “I’ll take my pen and score
    the blood inside my skin
    onto this page for you.”
    That line gave me shivers all the way down my spine for a good few minutes! It’s a fantastic piece with a great flow. I like how you can write free-verse but still maintain a sense of rhythm and rhyme. 😀
    xx

    • luvlymish said,

      Thankyou. I think it’s reading Sylvia Plath and Stevie Smith that does it as far as rhythm within free verse goes.

Leave a Reply

