The Quiet Man

11 December, 2010 at 23:57 (Uncategorized)

Upstairs in a quiet study, we had a beer,
and talked of modern times,
and smiled and laughed
with kisses from long ago between us.

And now I listen to songs that would mean
nothing to you, they were never yours,
but a thousand someone elses.

Have a beer, that’s the deal isn’t it?
I deal for keeps,I deal forever,
When you agreed to keep my rules for that length of time
My heart assured I’d never get over you
and you can be certain of the love in me
forever.

Have a beer, years after we said never,
and I will love you just as I did then,
and smile and talk and offer the same kisses
quietly, in the back of your mind.

4 Comments

  1. mydigitallove said,

    I have no idea why but this poem resonates so f*cking much with me.
    It’s like you took all the nostalgia I ever had and placed into one poem. It’s awesome, even if it is making me miss places and people and things I never did but should have.
    xx

    • luvlymish said,

      Thanks. I’m going through the dictionary to try and find a closer word to what I feel than nostalgia but I can’t seem to do it.

  2. fyre_faery said,

    I really love this one. I have read it to myself about three times now.

Leave a Reply

