Stay

3 December, 2010 at 15:50 (Uncategorized)

We children of the city, we who were sucked in,
prepare the way and oil the streets for the latest of our kin.
We children of the city, who I have said are gone,
out of the world, out of time lost in every song
are…

not so lost perhaps as I have said
and maybe this is a hole, only in my head
and now that I can look about, without a cloud again
maybe I can see that the city’s clothed in snow not rain
and the purifying substance, that takes the corners away
has quite convinced me
that I was right to stay

and every single numbness
and every single strain
was caused by a flicker of, fire doused by rain.

The smoke was in my throat, the smoke was in my eyes,
we children of the city are slow to realise
that we cannot breathe for thinking
that we cannot breathe for shame
and we are caught here open mouthed
drinking in the rain.

The pause in the rain, the open skies,
that it when we have the time
to realise, to know, to admit our pain

and then the city is soft to us
and then the city is good
for we are close to achieving
our selves, our personhood.

2 Comments

  1. shanodindryad said,

    Wo, Mish – I really like this one. Very nice flow indeed, clever use of rhyme, evocative language, over all enjoyable to read.

Leave a Reply

