D&D

8 July, 2010 at 16:03 (Uncategorized)

There are some rules in life which seem quite obvious
To ensure survival, of ourselves and others
There are some rules in life to which I’m quite oblivious
The knowledge of who precisely, is ‘out of my league’ for one.

Hushed whispers, judging on appearance, the likelihood of some colleague
Being fantastically lesbian
Being outlandish in some way
Has always seemed to me to be
An extension of the male gaze, judgement by appearance only
And sexist in the extreme.
There are some rules in life which I deny,
Despite the fact that they exist, patently,
Patiently awaiting the day I admit them.

So lets drive in the night with the lights turned off
And your hands, rolling another cigarette as you steer with your knees,
Are busy, so I’ll pour the wine and hand it to you
When the cigarette’s done.

There are some rules in life which seem to be inherent
Understood instinctually be everyone around me
And never noticed by myself until too late.
The knowledge of who precisely I would
Not worry about killing me in a single roll
So let’s toss the dice and start again
Without worrying precisely who’s playing
Assuming that someone’s paying, it might be me.

Lets drive through the darkness with the lights out
And your hands,

are busy, so I’ll pour the wine and hand it to you
When you’re done.

There are some rules about life and death and responsibility
I’m sure I took the time to learn them
It’s simply that, in the dark, I ignored them
as we rolled on.

Leave a Reply

