Request For Criticism

14 June, 2010 at 13:07 (Uncategorized)

Hello.

I just wanted to clarify something – the reason I post poetry (and occaisional prose) up on Livejournal (and then it gets fed across to Facebook) is to receive criticism. Now I know not everyone is comfortable posting crit up in public and I’m happy to recieve comments in person/via email whatever. I also understand that people have better things to do than comment on my work and that’s fine too, but it’s come to my attention that some people haven’t been commenting/critiquing because they think that this is hugely personal stuff and I’ll get upset or something.

This is a clarification, my stuff is put up publically for me to receive comment and criticism so that (hopefully) my writing improves. I want to be a writer, I want to receive your comments whether positive or negative. Completely personal stuff I couldn’t bear people to talk about does not get put up here publically. The reason it’s up here in public is also so that I’m not continually getting buoyed up by friends who think I’m great because they’re friends with me so if you don’t know me then so much the better.

Hope that clarifies things.

Leave a Reply

