Lampost Number Four

13 August, 2009 at 23:15 (Uncategorized)

The briefest instant a perseid flew by,
blazed in the sky and then vanished
the moment you asked if we should go and I said yes
and I knew that that was the moment I wanted to write down.
That perseid in your eyes.
That was the look that was tonight
that’s all I wanted to remember.

Do they matter, these rocks burning up in the atmosphere?
They have only the meanings that we give them
The rocks in the sky are rocks or some self to show,
I do not care, I will never know,
this is how untrue I am to you,
all the depths of my heart I give to you,
for the show.

The meteor shower comes closer, goes further away
depending on how much we watch,
depending on how much we say
Comes so close to real, I might wish it so,
Like standing barefoot under lampost number four
watching it beginning to snow,
they were someone elses kisses
but they were as real as the perseid in your eyes
and it’s that feeling (people tell me I should learn to despise),
of,
the beauty of the show,
all the rocks come burning down,
it’s so pretty until I move away from lampost number four
and the cold in your soul effects the footwear
I forgot to have worn.

There – in your eyes for a second,
an instant of ‘Shall we go?’
and I said yes and there was that perseid in your eyes,
the look that had me underneath lampost number four.

I never stood there with you,
never kissed you under it’s lamplight,
it does not matter who,
lampost number four is a feeling, is a meaning,
is a place and a time and a photo of yourself,
in tears with her arm around your shoulders.

Lampost number four, the perseid in your eyes
that second which I cling to
and which others despise,
that’s tonight before it vanishes,
that’s what I cling to.

Leave a Reply

