Never Present

29 November, 2008 at 18:52 (Uncategorized)

Looking forwards at the beginning,
and backwards at the end,
all you tried to ask,
was for me to face you,
but still I ran headlong,
into the storm I knew was coming,
and could not hold back from knowing,
where we all were going,
there is no pleasure in that.
So when the world ended,
as it must, every now and then,
I was in her bed,
listening to every word she said.
Looking sideways on life,
as if I’d already written out the book,
all you tried to ask,
was for me to look at you,
but still I’m running on,
and that storms not finished yet,
and I can’t hold back from speaking,
though you wish I would,
there is no pleasure in this.
So when the world ended,
as it must, every now and then,
I was alone in the dark,
and you were where you were supposed to be.
Looking in on a life I’m living,
never present when I’m supposed to be,
all you tried to ask,
was that I meet your gaze,
but we’d already passed,
that point in our story,
and the storm’s to come,
I’ll be standing on the sides,
though I’ll wish I wouldn’t,
there is no pleasure in that.
So when the world is ending,
as it must, every now and then,
I’ll meet your eyes,
as you asked, as I asked,
we know where we’ll be:
in misty streets, for one fleeting moment.

Leave a Reply

