24 November, 2008 at 23:02 (Uncategorized)

One heap, one pitch, one toss,
and until you’ve really won you’ll never know what it is you’ve lost,
and I won, I won so big, you never get over that horse coming in,
sixty to one at least,
but as with everything like the puppet’s say it’s only for now,
One heap, one pitch, one toss,
and I’ll know and I’ll will and I’ll dare,
but I must never breathe a word about my loss,
and to keep silent is the hardest lesson of all to learn,
when is it silence and when is it repression?
One heap, one pitch, one toss,
One daring, daring leap of faith that’s lost to fortune,
And gone again, but how I won,
I won so big, I’ll never win that big again,
that horse has gone no matter how much form I know,
I’ll never back that horse again.
And so, one heap, one pitch, one toss,
and begin again without the heap.
I won so big…
I can’t believe I won so big…
it never lasted but, I won so big…
and that’s why I can’t help myself,
back out to the touts again,
that sort of win, you never lose.

3 Comments

  1. lentilthelegume said,

    I really liked this poem. Bittersweet is probably the word.
    The line ‘when is it silence and when is it repression’ jarred a little though, I’d consider editing that one. Otherwise I love it.

    • luvlymish said,

      What about if I lose that line all together?

      • lentilthelegume said,

        Hmmm, having read it through I think that would work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

