Night Crossings

1 September, 2008 at 15:24 (Uncategorized)

And the prow of your ship juts proud,
But I haven’t sailed with you in a long time now,
And I know you aren’t sitting in the dry docks
and I know that the ship isn’t somewhere in hock,
And the prow of your ship still juts proud,
it’s just that I haven’t sailed with you in a long time now,
and you look at me across the bar we frequent,
as if my eyes are accusing you,
as if the crossings we spent,
on the decks of your boat, beneath the stars,
meant nothing.
They meant what they meant,
and the prow of your ship, splits the water,
and the prow of your ship leads on into
only those crossings which are meant,
and it slices the mist in the winter,
and it cuts apart the moon in the summer,
and when the stars are out,
and the wind blows long,
then I can think of you, as I sit in our bar,
and wish that just once, you’d sang me that song.

Leave a Reply

