Stoats

17 June, 2008 at 13:02 (Uncategorized)

The last time I saw a stoat,
was when I climbed Clough Pike,
that day when my timing was perfect
and the moorland heather,
the perfect cover…for a while.
That last time I saw a stoat,
it leapt and bounced and dove into the grasses,
far below the Pike, urging me on,
and I climbed, straight up the rocky face,
and saw in the distance,
what I most wanted to see,
but lacked the skills to remain unseen,
the stoat, though, disappeared,
until today.
All stoats are the same under the skin,
a single entity, pushing itself out,
into the world in platonic form,
aren’t we all?

Leave a Reply

